Professional data centers such as LCL offer reliability and security. Certifications also make that tangible. A certification is an external quality assessment that is regularly tested again. They prove that LCL meets certain standards and requirements and that an independent body controls it. We therefore strive for a continuous improvement of our services and processes.
LCL has the following certifications:

Tier III data center certification by IBM

The Tier classifications indicate the different levels of redundancy of the data center infrastructure. There are four Tier levels. The data centers of LCL are at level 3. This amounts to a minimum availability of our data center services of 99.98%. All our systems are doubly present (electricity, cooling, maintenance and capacity). This means that all systems have a back-up installation, so that the datacenter continues to run during maintenance, for example. Tier 3 is the highest attainable level in Belgium. At the Tier 4 level, the electricity must enter the data center via two separate roads. That is not possible with us since the Belgian legislation allows only one energy supplier. We solve this with generators and extra batteries (UPS, Uninterruptible Power Supply) that receive power outages. So you do not have to worry about your business continuity. You can always count on the availability of your data. The certificate has been granted by IBM.

ISO 14001 by BSI

LCL's environmental management system complies with the international ISO 14001 standard. Our data centers comply with environmental legislation and we make efforts to reduce our ecological footprint. This ranges from small things such as economical use of paper and sorting waste carefully, to the regular maintenance and inspection of our installations. We measure electricity consumption and we can detect unnecessary energy consumption. Cold corridors ensure efficient, local cooling. The fire fighting system in our data centers, NOVEC 1230, is the most ecological extinguishing gas on the market. In addition, LCL runs 100% on green energy! The PUE (Power Usage Efficiency), an energy efficiency indicator, of LCL is between 1.5 and 1.7. The closer the result 1 approaches, the more efficient. We go for sustainable environmental policy and less consumption in all areas. You also reap the benefits.

ISO 27001 by BSI

The ISO 27001 certificate proves that LCL has its information security in order. The integrity, confidentiality and availability of your data are guaranteed at LCL. We have clear, strict procedures to protect information and to respond to various possible incidents (incident management). Information security is also an important point of attention in the day-to-day work of our employees. Your data is in safe hands at LCL.


ISO 45001 by BSI

The ISO 45001 certificate proves that LCL complies with the new international standard for health and safety at work. LCL is the first data center in Belgium to obtain ISO 45001 certification. LCL has invested nearly 260,000 euros to obtain this certification. For LCL, workplace safety is more than a serious business. We want to raise awareness about security risks in data centers.


ISAE 3000 Type 2 and ISAE 3402 Type 2 reports

These quality reports provide insight into the risk management, the quality and the reliability of internal processes and the information security at LCL. ISAE 3000 focuses on operational management, while ISAE 3402 works from a financial perspective. The criteria covered in the report are: access to the data center (fencing, video surveillance, door), incidents and their reporting and maintenance (of the fence, the generators, the UPSs, etc.). In the report you will find answers to questions such as: How are risks identified? What measures have we taken to secure information? How do we control the risks? In a type II reporting, the effective application of the information security measures is tested during a certain period. With these reports we assure you that at LCL you can count on a safe and properly maintained infrastructure. Consultancy agency Deloitte carries out the audit annually.

PCI DSS Compliant by PCI Security Standards

The Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS) is an information security standard for organizations that handle branded credit cards from the major card schemes. The PCI Standard is mandated by the card brands but administered by the Payment Card Industry Security Standards Council. The standard was created to increase controls around cardholder data to reduce credit card fraud. Validation of compliance is performed annually or quarterly, either by an external Qualified Security Assessor (QSA) or by a firm specific Internal Security Assessor (ISA) that creates a Report on Compliance for organizations handling large volumes of transactions, or by Self-Assessment Questionnaire (SAQ) for companies handling smaller volumes.

We are happy to provide you with proof of our certifications, ask for it during your visit to our data center.